This is the fifth step of syncing OneRoster with SchoolStatus Connect. If you intend to see the high-level view of how to start syncing with OneRoster, please click here.
If you are done with the first four steps, please proceed.
SchoolStatus Connect will create an initial sync configuration for you. You can then adjust the settings to make sure the sync meets your needs.
To adjust the sync settings, please follow the steps below.
1. Click the Drop-down.
2. Select the District Home Page.
2. Click on the 3 black dots.
3. Select Settings.
4. Scroll down and click SIS Rostering.
5. Click District-Level Daily Sync.
6. Scroll down and fill in the SFTP Login, SFTP Password, SFTP host Domain, SFTP Port, SFTP path, Sync Start Time, Deletion Threshold, Student ID, Archived Students, and Phone Credential Column.
7. Update your Settings and Permissions
Student ID
Choose what ID the students should have on SchoolStatus Connect - STUDENT ID or STUDENT NUMBER. You can always change this setting.
Archived students
Use the drop-down to choose how Archived Students are Synced.
Phone Credential Column
Choose which field, SMS or Phone, the phone number will be added to.
Note: Phone numbers from the SMS field are saved to the user’s mobile phone. This means that this number is the user’s login method and is their communication method for SMS and phone calls.
Phone numbers from the phone field are saved as a user’s Home Phone Number, meaning they are not used for communications or login.
Enable Daily sync :
Uncheck this box if you do not want the data synced daily.
Don't import classroom enrollments:
This setting is useful during periods when class rosters are still being finalized, such as the start of the school year. It lets you keep unfinished or inaccurate classroom rosters hidden from teachers and families, without affecting their access to the rest of the platform — staff and guardians can still log in, view, and create communications, and submit Profile Update Requests to correct their information.
When enabled, Connect's roster synchronization will skip classroom enrollments entirely. Classrooms will still be created, but will remain empty until this setting is turned off.
If you enable this setting after enrollments have already been synced, the sync will attempt to archive those existing enrollments. This may trigger a threshold error in your sync notifications if the number being archived exceeds your current limit. If that's expected, you can adjust your Deletion Threshold setting to allow it.
Note: Another way to control who can access Connect is the Access Control feature, which lets you manage platform access by role. Keep in mind that if access is turned off for a role, users in that role will not be able to log in to Connect at all — they may still receive communications, but won't be able to view full message content or access the platform. Learn more in this article.
Allow sync to manage Guardians:
If you want SchoolStatus Connect to pull guardians from OneRoster, make sure this setting is on.
If you want SchoolStatus Connect to pull the guardian information from other sources (e.g. you plan to use the guardians.csv file), please leave this option off and review the automated SFTP sync for guardians setup guide linked at the bottom of this page.
Unarchive classrooms that reappear in the roster data:
This setting makes sure that the classrooms you share from OneRoster are always active on SchoolStatus Connect. You can always change this.
Allow the sync to update the contact details of active users:
If your OneRoster data is the most up-to-date source of user contact details, you may choose to enable this option. Please read this article to learn more about this setting.
Allow the sync to update the user's language to the value in roster data:
These settings allow for language values to be pulled and synced from your OneRoster Data.
Note: If the sync manages user language, manual changes are not allowed.
8. Click Save.
Permissions
Permission Title |
Access Details |
|
Permissions Admin |
Ability to update staff members' Custom Permissions. |
|
School-Wide Communications |
Access to all Schoolwide communication features. |
|
Rostering Administrator |
Can manage Schoolwide Directory; enroll new students, add staff, assign students and staff to classrooms, manage guardians, and set staff's job titles. |
|
Content Moderator |
View and manage flagged content for moderation. |
|
Users Manager |
Update active student, staff, and guardian accounts. |
|
Family Access |
Access to Schoolwide Directories and the ability to view and contact students and families. |
|
E Engagement Visibility |
Access all engagement log entries for students that belong to you. Note: When enabled, users can view engagement logs and details for all students within their access scope. Note: When disabled, users can only access communications where they are a direct participant. |
Note: Please DO NOT enable the sync yet.
Proceed to the next steps here.
Click here to return to the main menu- or ask for help!