This is the fifth step in setting up ClassLink the SchoolStatus Connect roster synchronization. To see the high-level sync setup guide, please click here.
If you've completed the previous four steps, please proceed.
District Tenant ID and application_id
To update SchoolStatus Connect sync settings, you need to know the District Tenant ID and the District application_id. If you don't have them yet, please let us know at connectsupport@schoolstatus.com, and we will provide them for you.
Sync Settings
To adjust the sync settings, please follow the steps below.
1. Click the drop-down.
2. Select the District Home Page.
2. Click on the 3 black dots.
3. Select Settings.
4. Scroll down and click SIS Rostering.
5. Click District-Level Daily Sync
6. Scroll down and adjust the settings and permissions accordingly.
7. Click Save.
Settings
Enable Daily sync :
Uncheck this box if you do not want the data synced daily.
Don't import classroom enrollments:
This setting is useful during periods when class rosters are still being finalized, such as the start of the school year. It lets you keep unfinished or inaccurate classroom rosters hidden from teachers and families, without affecting their access to the rest of the platform — staff and guardians can still log in, view, and create communications, and submit Profile Update Requests to correct their information.
When enabled, Connect's roster synchronization will skip classroom enrollments entirely. Classrooms will still be created, but will remain empty until this setting is turned off.
If you enable this setting after enrollments have already been synced, the sync will attempt to archive those existing enrollments. This may trigger a threshold error in your sync notifications if the number being archived exceeds your current limit. If that's expected, you can adjust your Deletion Threshold setting to allow it.
Note: Another way to control who can access Connect is the Access Control feature, which lets you manage platform access by role. Keep in mind that if access is turned off for a role, users in that role will not be able to log in to Connect at all — they may still receive communications, but won't be able to view full message content or access the platform. Learn more in this article.
Allow sync to manage Guardians:
If you want SchoolStatus Connect to pull guardians from ClassLink, make sure this setting is on.
If you want SchoolStatus Connect to pull the guardian information from other sources (e.g., you plan to use the guardians.csv file), please leave this option off and review the automated SFTP sync for guardians setup guide linked at the bottom of this page.
Note: All Guardians have an SMS field and a Phone field.
Note: Phone numbers from the SMS field are saved to the user’s mobile phone. This means that this number is used for a user’s login method, and is their communication method for SMS and phone calls.
Phone numbers from the phone field are saved as the user’s Home Phone Number, meaning they are not used for communications or login.
Unarchive classrooms that reappear in the roster data:
This setting makes sure that the classrooms you share from ClassLink are always active on SchoolStatus Connect. You can always change this.
Allow the sync to update the contact details of active users:
If your ClassLink data is the most up-to-date source of user contact details, you may choose to enable this option. Please read this article to learn more about this setting.
Permissions
Permission Title |
Access Details |
|
Permissions Admin |
Ability to update staff members' Custom Permissions. |
|
School-Wide Communications |
Access to all Schoolwide communication features. |
|
Rostering Administrator |
Can manage Schoolwide Directory; enroll new students, add staff, assign students and staff to classrooms, manage guardians, and set staff's job titles. |
|
Content Moderator |
View and manage flagged content for moderation. |
|
Users Manager |
Update active student, staff, and guardian accounts. |
|
Family Access |
Access to Schoolwide Directories and the ability to view and contact students and families. |
|
E Engagement Visibility |
Access all engagement log entries for students that belong to you. Note: When enabled, users can view engagement logs and details for all students within their access scope. Note: When disabled, users can only access communications where they are a direct participant. |
Note: Please DO NOT enable the sync yet.
Proceed to the next steps here.
Click here to return to the main menu- or ask for help!